In Arizona a person is guilty of an Extreme DUI if his Blood Alcohol Level is above a .15 within two hours of driving.
The penalties for an Extreme DUI certainly fit the name:
- 30 days in jail
- fines and fees of approximately $3,000
- alcohol screening and classes
- 90 day license suspension which can be lowered to a 30 day suspension with a 60 day restriction for work, school or medical appointments.
- one year of the interlock device
- 8 points and traffic survival school
If you are charged with an Extreme DUI you need an attorney. It is possible to beat this charge. I have represented hundreds of people who were charged with an Extreme DUI but were not found guilty of one. In many of those cases my clients saved more money than they paid me to represent them.
Michael A. Burkhart has over ten years of experience defending the accused throughout Phoenix, including cases in Mesa, Maricopa County, Tempe, Gilbert, Chandler, and Queen Creek.
Arizona has the toughest DUI laws in the country. The State will try to put you in jail for up to six months, take away your license, make you pay thousands of dollars in fines, go through alcohol classes, and put an alcohol sensor on your car.